Notes & Such

Intro

My name is Elizabeth Curbey and I am a senior Biology major and a Chinese minor. My hometown is Redford, Michigan. After I graduate, I hope to become a zookeeper. This summer I interned at the Bat Zone and worked at Cold Stone Creamery. I also visited the Art Institute of Chicago and the Detroit Institute of Arts which gave me some ideas of how education in art museums is approached.

My role will likely switch between leader and follower. In areas where I am more knowledgeable, I tend to step up and take charge. However, in areas where there are clearly individuals with more experience and knowledge, I follow their lead and contribute when necessary. I have been in an immersive learning project before, so I have some background with how the process works. My previous immersive learning project and my thesis both focus on education in zoos. Zoos and museums are very similar, so I will be able to make connections and use that which I have already learned from my thesis and zoo immersion in the Infinite Museum project.

I am a strong communicator and capable public speaker. I am also very dependable and organized. Two of my strengths are also two of my weaknesses. First, I’m a Biology major. I will likely have a different perspective on art and learning because my educational foundation and learning style differs from yours, so I will bring some interesting ideas to the table. However, Biology does not have a strong focus on creativity. The creative part of this process will be more difficult for me. My other strength and weakness is that I like to take on a lot of responsibility. Occasionally, I take on too much. The skill I possess which is least helpful is that I am an excellent small handler.

 

Tagline Ideas

Looking past the frame.

Explore the world of art.

Discover art. Discover yourself.

Amaze yourself.

Converse with art.

 

DSC03079 DSC03075  

Leave a comment